SWOGS Website Sponsor 2021 - 2022

SWOGS Membership: Why to Pay your Membership Fees!


The first SWOGS (South Western Obstetrical and Gynaecological Society) meeting was held in June 1949 in Bristol. SWOGS is one of the longest lasting O&G Societies in the UK and seeks to educate, inform and introduce colleagues to each other.

Our annual scientific meetings combine state of the art lectures from regional experts and beyond, RCOG representatives, historical lectures and undergraduate and postgraduate research. The Society has 4 medical schools in its catchment (Plymouth, Exeter, Bristol and Southampton) and the Annual Meeting gives researchers the chance to present their work to a wide local audience that is genuinely supportive and appreciative of their contribution. With increasing numbers of NIHR studies, this is also an ideal opportunity to increase awareness and recruitment to clinical trials. There are prestigious prizes awarded each year for the top rated presentations. The Annual Meeting is also an ideal venue to encounter a large volume of industry representatives at one "sitting": invaluable when opportunities are limited at one's own hospital.


Most importantly, SWOGS is a forum to meet colleagues from across the region. Many of us have chosen to live and work in the South West and Wessex for very similar reasons and a natural affinity already exists. It's just that we rarely get a chance to meet! Many of us have made lifelong friends through SWOGS and professionally SWOGS provides a network of local experts and colleagues for advice with difficult cases, professional issues and support in difficult times. For trainees, whom we strongly encourage to attend, this is an ideal opportunity for them to meet and greet potential Consultant colleagues of the future and "showcase" their talents. For many trainees, the Meetings provide an opportunity to compare and contrast their teaching experience and cross-pollinate across different training regions.

Membership Fee

The annual Membership Fee has remained at £20 for over a decade. This is deductible for tax purposes. Out of the Membership Fees, we arrange and subsidise the Annual Meeting, sponsor the prizes, and make charitable donations (to Wellbeing for Women and Female Cancer charities for example). Monies can be directed to research or clinical purposes if members at the AGM agree upon this. With industry support to all forms of such medical meetings diminishing over the years from ABPI and other directives and study leave budgets being pruned continually, we all acknowledge how difficult it is for such societies as SWOGS to continue. We very much hope that you feel SWOGS is worth supporting into the future.

For this reason, we would be most grateful if you are not already paying your £20 annual Membership Fee you could please consider completing this mandate form and sending it to your bank.

With very best wishes
Miss Lisa Verity, Honorary Secretary of SWOGS and Mr Tim Hillard, President of SWOGS 2018


Year President Month Place Conference Lead
2021 Miss Gurpreet Pandher June Online Greg Pearson
2020 Miss Gurpreet Pandher None None Greg Pearson
2019 Miss Gurpreet Pandher May Bristol Melanie Griffin
2018 Mr Tim Hillard May Southampton Dimitrios Miligkos
2017 Mr Tim Hillard May Plymouth Elinor Medd
2016 Mr Seumas Eckford October Poole Daniel Webster
2015 Mr Seumas Eckford October Swindon Hany Gamal-Eldeen and Tamer Abdelrazik
2014 Mr Fraser Mcleod October Bristol Rachel Liebling
2013 Mr Fraser Mcleod October Winchester Lawrence Olujide
2012 Mr Keith Louden September Torquay Julian Barrington
2011 Mr Keith Louden October Gloucester Mark James
Madhavi Vellayan
2010 Mr Bob Anderson October Truro (Eden Project) Lisa Verity
2009 Mr Bob Anderson October Basingstoke Ben O'Sullivan
2008 Mr Tony Falconer October Taunton Guy Fender
2007 Mr Tony Falconer October Plymouth Luigi Bombieri
2006 October Cheltenham May Pillai
2005 October Bristol, Southmead Tim Draycott
2004 Geoff Dunster May Barnstaple Seumas Eckford
2004 Geoff Dunster October Poole Tim Hillard
2003 Geoff Dunster May Salisbury
2002 John Richardson May Bristol Peter Soothill
2002 John Richardson October Bath Maggi Tonge
2001 John Richardson October New Forest Ash Monga
2000 P. Docherty October Cape Town
2000 P. Docherty May Plymouth
1999 M. Grundy October Winchester
1999 M. Grundy May Gloucester
1998 J. Friend October Belfast
1998 J. Friend May Bristol, Southmead
1997 D. Gibbens May Truro
1996 P. Niven May Jersey
1996 P. Niven October Salisbury
1995 W. Bradford May Cheltenham
1995 W. Bradford October Gloucester
1994 P. Grenfell May Barnstaple
1994 P. Grenfell October Portsmouth
1993 A. Clark May Brockenhust
1993 A. Clark October Taunton
1992 N. Gardner May Exeter
1992 N. Gardner October Bath
1991 J. Boyd May Bristol
1991 J. Boyd October Poole
1990 J. Cooper May Plymouth
1990 J. Cooper October Dublin
1989 V. Jones May Yeovil
1989 V. Jones October Chichester
1988 B. Cooke May Edinburgh
1988 B. Cooke October Gloucester
1987 J. Dennis May Falmouth/Truro
1987 J. Dennis October Winchester
1986 M. Yates May Guernsey
1986 M. Yates October Swindon
1985 A. Davidson May Dorchester
1985 A. Davidson October Southampton
1984 K. Craig May Paris
1984 K. Craig October Portsmouth
1983 G. Smedley May Barnstaple
1983 G. Smedley October Bristol
1982 R. Adam May Torquay
1982 R. Adam October Exeter
1981 G. Davidson May La Baule
1981 G. Davidson October Taunton
1980 Mr S. Lubert May Bournemouth
1980 Mr S. Lubert October Basingstoke
1979 Mr W. Pollard May Bath
1978 Mr S.J. Birt April Jersey
1978 Mr S.J. Birt October Salisbury
1977 Mr F.A. Murray October Barnstaple
1976 Mr M.R. Fell
1975 Mr H. Hamilton
1974 Mr J.C. Crossley
1973 Mr D.R. Kilgour
1972 Mr J. MacPherson
1971 Mr D. Jefferiss
1970 Mr J. Thomson
1969 Mr S.D. Loxton Jersey
1968 Mr J. Dumoulin May Bristol
1968 Mr J. Dumoulin October Plymouth
1967 Mr J.J. Foley May Cheltenham
1967 Mr J.J. Foley November Portsmouth
1966 Mr Bryce E. Blair May Winchester
1966 Mr Bryce E. Blair November Bristol
1965 Mr J. Sanson May Dublin
1965 Mr J. Sanson October Southampton
1964 Mr J. Sanson May Worcester
1964 Mr J. Sanson October Bristol
1963 Mr P.M.G. Russell May London
1963 Mr P.M.G. Russell November Bath
1962 Prof. G.G. Lennon May Plymouth
1962 Prof. G.G. Lennon October Exeter
1961 Mr J.G. Hastings-Ince May Torquay
1961 Mr J.G. Hastings-Ince November Southsea
1960 Mr J. Nicholson-Lailey May Truro
1960 Mr J. Nicholson-Lailey October Salisbury
1959 Mr T. Barnett May Portsmouth
1959 Mr T. Barnett October Tauton
1958 Mr P.R. Mitchell May Winchester
1958 Mr P.R. Mitchell October Exeter
1957 Mr H. Hamilton May Bristol
1957 Mr H. Hamilton September Dublin
1956 Mr D. Beaton May Weymouth
1956 Mr D. Beaton October Plymouth
1955 Mr H.L. Shepherd April Bristol
1955 Mr H.L. Shepherd October Portsmouth
1954 Mr R. Knowlton May Stratford-on-Avon
1954 Mr R. Knowlton September Southampton
1953 Mr A. Leech-Wilkinson May Redruth
1953 Mr A. Leech-Wilkinson October Bath
1952 Mr
April Exeter
1952 Mr
October Bristol
1951 Mr H. Sandeman-Allen April Tauton
1951 Mr H. Sandeman-Allen October London
1950 Mr
Sandeman Allen
April Plymouth
1950 Mr
Sandeman Allen
November Shurdington
1949 Mr H.J. Drew-Smythe June Bristol
1949 Mr H.J. Drew-Smythe November Bristol